Storing car during the winter and oil of choice?

Technical and Repair Discussions

Still Learning to Type
Still Learning to Type
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 12:04 pm
Hello, I am relatively new to the SRF community and was curious how others store their cars for the winter? Do you leave your car on jack stands to preserve the shocks/tires or does it matter?

I am also curious what brand of oil you consider to the be highest quality. I have been told to use Mobil 1 and I have also been told Mobil 1 is not what it used to be.

I would appreciate any thoughts others might have.

Thanks,
Steve

Still Learning to Type
Still Learning to Type

Chassis:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:36 pm
I've just concluded my first year in SRF and put my car into storage last weekend. I drained the fuel cell, added anti-freeze to the cooling system (I live in Wisconsin), took out the battery, and put the car up on wooden blocks under the frame rails. I left the tires on the hubs but they're off the ground. The car is parked inside a enclosed trailer which is parked inside an unheated pole barn.

I've always raced with Mobil 1 and never had a problem. I'll be changing the oil and filter when I take the car out of storage. Hope this helps. I'd also be interested in what others are doing.

- Dave
Needs a Life!!!
Needs a Life!!!

Chassis:
Facebook Page:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/denny.stripling
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 3:10 pm
I live in Dallas so "winter storage" is relative. :) I have never once drained my tank of gas for storage. I know this seems odd, but I started out not doing so out of ignorance, and then I realized that my fuel cells were lasting as long if not longer than everyone else, so I just kept doing it (leaving whatever gas was in it, in it).
I do like to jack the car up off the ground when I can. I also disconnect the battery when I remember to.
I used Mobil1 for years and it's great.
my .02.
Denny
Needs a Life!!!
Chassis:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:02 pm