Not the Dark Side...Lime Rock Thank you's

All things specracer!

Ready to Write a Book
Ready to Write a Book
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 11:36 am
Even though I have been doing this for a couple of years and had been incident free I knew the day would come when I would damage the car. That day was yesterday at Lime Rock. Having qualified 3rd it was a little discomforting sitting on the grid like the rest of the field on dry tires watching the sky spit rain drops. Then off we went and the track actually was providing grip, yet every time we came down the main straight I kept telling myself its raining...Don't do anything stupid. And then in the closing laps the rain apparently had wet down the downhill enough where the back end snapped on me when i had to move the car slightly off line lapping a Production car. Half way through the spin I'm thinking I'm still on the payment...just maybe... then I saw dirt flying from the right front wheel followed by a slide in the grass which got me into the tire wall left front.

The result was a bunch of damage to my otherwise pristine bodywork (chassis #862) and a bunch of broken suspension parts. Once the car got back in the paddock area, with me contemplating how I was going to get this broken car back in the trailer over comes Bob Devol, Mark Peyser, Bill Watts, Kevin Treffeison who I was paddocked with, Joe Wolfe and Dave Mailhot offering help. Next thing I know Devol is giving orders to make a list for a parts run to Motion Dynamics and at the same time he, Mark and Bill are positioning things to disassemble the car. I'd like to say I helped but mostly I was watching, learning and finding various size tools while trying to stay involved but out the way. With things being finally reassembled I was shocked to look up and see my front bodywork being pieced back with by Kevin and Joe. Another task done. Finally after setting up the strings Mark reset the camber and tow and I drove the car through the paddock.