Won't start when cold, crank errors

Check out the latest version of the Spec Racer! LBoth ligher weight and more powerful!!! Available soon, racing in 2015!
User avatar
Needs a Life!!!
Needs a Life!!!
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 12:21 am

Chassis:
595
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 8:24 pm
The 2012 Fiesta is likely a good match. I'd pull the old part (likely to have a part number on it), but from a photo on Amazon, it looks like the right part. It's a bit of a POA to pull it out (had to rotate back and forth to eventually get it to come out), but pretty straightforward to put back in.
Bob Breton - SRF 51 - San Francisco Region

Still Learning to Type
Still Learning to Type
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 3:19 pm
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:08 pm
My Gen 3 in TX is now having this same problem. I had the crank sensor swapped out and still no dice. The car cranks, has fuel, fuel pressure, full charge on the battery. What now?

We’re going to swap ECU’s with another car to see if it’s an ECU issue.

Crank sensor Ferd part number is BE8Z6C315A

Forum Hermit
Forum Hermit
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:12 pm
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:02 am
Let me know if swapping your ECU works. You might have to also swap your throttle body to match or recalibrate.

Pat

Still Learning to Type
Still Learning to Type
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 3:19 pm
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:23 pm
goolsbey wrote:Let me know if swapping your ECU works. You might have to also swap your throttle body to match or recalibrate.

Pat



Will do.

Still Learning to Type
Still Learning to Type
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 3:19 pm
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:48 pm
Brandon at BSP in Frisco has an extra ECU/PCM. Turns out my car fired right up when he plugged in to the new ECU so I have a faulty computer in my car.
Previous

Return to Spec Racer Gen3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest