Stacker Trailer

Getting to the track and back, where you stay while you are there.

Ready to Write a Book
Ready to Write a Book
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2015 8:37 pm
I am looking to buy a new trailer for my SRF and Golf Cart. My problem is that a 20 ft trailer does not fit in my garage. A 14 ft trailer would fit great so I am thinking about stacking the golf cart over the SRF. Does anyone know of such a trailer or has anyone built a stacking mechanism? I am a mechanical engineer and have a steel fab shop so I can make one but thought I should ask around before jumping in. Has anyone seen a trailer like this and could they describe how it was built. I have a few ideas of my own but looking for advice.
Thanks
Bob K
Needs a Life!!!
Needs a Life!!!
Chassis:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:18 pm
Bob K wrote:I am looking to buy a new trailer for my SRF and Golf Cart. My problem is that a 20 ft trailer does not fit in my garage. A 14 ft trailer would fit great so I am thinking about stacking the golf cart over the SRF. Does anyone know of such a trailer or has anyone built a stacking mechanism? I am a mechanical engineer and have a steel fab shop so I can make one but thought I should ask around before jumping in. Has anyone seen a trailer like this and could they describe how it was built. I have a few ideas of my own but looking for advice.
Thanks
Bob K

During my first year of racing, I met an SRF racer who was traveling the country and running a different track every weekend. His son designed a hoist inside the trailer to pick up the front end of the spec racer, so that the front of a Smart car could fit underneath (in a sort of dovetail configuration). I can't remember what length trailer he had, but It worked great for him.

I think a 16 ft. trailer would give you a more realistic chance of making that design happen. Will a 16 footer fit in the garage?
Kurt Breitinger
SEDIV #28
Chassis 494

Ready to Write a Book
Ready to Write a Book